Helena Symphony Composer in Residence

HelenaSymLogoThe Helena Symphony proudly announces the appointment of Kile Smith as Composer in Residence for the 2014-2015 Season. In addition to performing works by Mr. Smith, the Helena Symphony has commissioned him to compose two works celebrating the 150th birthday of the City of Helena and the 60th anniversary of the Helena Symphony.

The first work, Gold and Silver, will be premiered July 2014 for an audience of over 15,000 people and performed again in May 2015. The second commission, for orchestra with the internationally renowned Romanian cellist Ovidiu Marinescu, will be performed in January 2015.

In October, music director Allan R. Scott will conduct the Helena Symphony Orchestra and Chorale in Mr. Smith’s 2004 work Psalm 46, with baritone soloist Ron Loyd.

Founded in 1955, the Helena Symphony Orchestra is a 75-member regional professional orchestra in Helena, Montana, and is one of the leading symphonic organizations in the Rocky Mountain region. Noted as one of the “best small arts communities in the United States,” Helena is the Capital City of Montana.

Kile Smith lives in Philadelphia, where he composes full-time, following 18 years as Curator of the Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music. He also hosts the weekly American contemporary music radio program Now Is the Time and co-hosts the monthly Discoveries from the Fleisher Collection, both on WRTI-FM and wrti.org, and is a classical announcer on WRTI. He is a contributing editor to the online arts and culture magazine Broad Street Review. In addition to the Helena projects, he is composing new works for The Crossing and other ensembles.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s